A Bewildering Day – A sign of old Age??

end dec,2013 516

I am a very organized person. I make lists. I do the same things each morning in the same order. It keeps life going smoothly. Well, usually. The other day, I stepped out the door at 7:30 am like always and drove down the same roads to work. I reached for my bag beside me on the seat as I drove up to the parking ramp. I needed to pull out my identity card which not only says who I am, it lets me into the parking ramp and into the locker room, and pays for my lunch. There was no bag on the seat. Did I not bring it along? Apparently not. I cannot believe I have left the most important possession for my day at home. I buzzed the security department in the hopes that they will believe my embarrassing story and buzz me into the ramp. Without even a question, the gate opened and I found a parking spot. But I was so preoccupied with my day. I not only did not have my most important identity card, I didn’t have my pager, my surgically shielded glasses, or my hair clip to secure my hair. Somehow, I needed to figure out how to improvise without these all important items.

I did manage to survive the day being nameless, unreachable, hungry, and with my hair falling out the back of my surgical cap every few hours. As I left work 30 minutes late, I realized, I had no recollection of parking my car. Oh dear. I climbed the 6 flights of stairs to the top of the ramp (my forced exercise for the day). I usually parked near the top. But when I clicked the car door unlock on my keys, no sound came back to my ears. I began my trudge around and around, making my way downward level after level. Can this day ever end, I wondered? My car has to be here somewhere. Finally, on the first level just inside the entrance, was my lost car. I wanted to just sit down and start this day over? Is this what happens when one is old and the circuits are overloaded? At least no one was looking – I hope.

One thought on “A Bewildering Day – A sign of old Age??

  1. I had to laugh at the story of your forgetfulness. I’m almost as bad or worse and it is good to know that others have the same kind of days occasionally. Just yesterday my husband and I went to Wal Mart, He said he’ll sit at the entrance in front of McDonald’s and I’ll see him there when I come out. I forgot he said that and sometime later I sailed out past Macdonald’s and remembered what he said but didn’t see him. Getting out to the parking lot I couldn’t remember where he said the car was. Just as I was getting ready to dial his number my phone rang. He said,” what’s taking you so long?
    I said, I’m in the parking lot, where are you, where’s the car?

    Like

Leave a Reply

